Having a Good Day!

This morning, I woke up feeling better than I’ve felt in weeks. I had a slight headache, but no dizziness! This is the first time in months that I have not felt dizzy, or had that strange feeling of pressure inside my head. I’m thinking clearly, and I feel ready for adventure (even if my adventure is just a drive to a daughter’s house, to read books to that “branch” of our family). Having children does add adventure to your life, that’s for sure, and I’ve shared some of my grand adventures with you in the past, just to prove it. Of course, you have to be open to adventure for it to come your way. First of all you have to be healthy. So I’m glad that, at least for today, I feel open to adventure, and able to make it happen.

It’s always nice to have an unexpected “good day” in the midst of every bout of illness. Just one day, peppered here and there, can be enough to keep you fighting. It’s like I’m floating downstream, all alone, not knowing where I’m going to end up, and suddenly, a sandy beach appears, and I’m washed up right to the river’s edge, where I can get myself on the beach and feel safe again, and feel “saveable.” Because, that’s the worst part of chronic illness, feeling like there’s never going to be a way out, like this particular course of suffering, and being so useless, wondering if it will last until I die (and possibly even hasten my death). That could happen, and if it does, I am ready to embrace my suffering, for the sake of Our merciful God’s plan of salvation. It might even be for you, dear reader. Are you struggling in your faith? Not making it to Church every Sunday, not turning to God daily in prayer, for guidance and direction? Think of me, then, sitting in my recliner, praying every day for God to pour out His mercy upon the whole world, but on YOU, especially and to draw you close to His side. I would without a doubt, happily give up this one good day I’m having, just for you to find your way home. We are all connected, we must work together, through the supernatural gifts of prayer, charity, and self-sacrifice, to allow God’s hand to move, and change and renew the hearts of all mankind. We just need to listen to the Spirit of God, and follow his commands to love, and pray for and love our “neighbor,” as He loves us, without question, no matter what we do, always the sandy beach waiting there to “save us,” always waiting for the slightest hint of a backward glance, so that He can draw us into the fold, safe once again from the troubles of this world. “For the sake of His Sorrowful Passion, have mercy on me, and on the whole world.” Make us new, Lord, fill our hearts with your love and compassion, and lead us on the path that will make us whole. And allow us to experience the hope of eternal life, as we enter in to the coming Holy Week, beginning with this Passion Sunday, and experience the joy of Easter on the wings of Christ’s love.

One of my favorite adventures, being a “beach bum!”

4 thoughts on “Having a Good Day!

  1. That was a beautiful post!! I am teary-eyed! I pray for you everyday, especially after reading your blog! Thank you for staying with this!! All of these articles have been part of my Lenten journey and I’m very much looking forward to Holy Week with you! Love,Teresa Schirmer 

    Yahoo Mail: Search, Organize, Conquer

Leave a comment