The Swelter Amongst us!

Mid-June is serving up an early summer broil in the Midwest USA. I can hardly bear to walk out of the house. The forecasted temperatures for most of this week are upper 90’s, with 100° plus for the weekend. We have two close friends with pools. One will be out of town this week, for the birth of a grandchild, so we’re putting all of our hope in the other friends (who have already said, “come on over!”) That’s a much appreciated offer, because, not only do they have a very nice pool, but it’s also a salt water pool. Yay, no nasty chemicals! They also have a large family, lots of children and grandchildren, many of them local, so the pool might get a little crowded, but that’s okay. We know most of their family, too, and I have no problem bouncing someone else’s baby in a pool, if that’s what it takes!

In the meantime, we are dusting off the fan blades and sharing our fans with our middle daughter, who lives in an older farmhouse with no AC. This weekend, I went to a “neighborhood sale,” and found a Lasko “Wind Machine,” which is basically just a heavy duty floor fan. I insulted the lady with an offer of $12, but then she came right back with a suggestion of $15, which I agreed to. When I got home, I checked prices on Amazon, and those machines sell for $50! So I’m feeling pretty savvy about that purchase! “No AC daughter” now has that fan at her house, which I’m sure will come in very handy this week. And we do have AC, and even more fans, so we’ll be just fine. At night-time, I aim two fans blowing right on me, so I’m sleeping very comfortably and soundly, thank you very much.

My sincere (yet baseless) hope is that this major heat wave will be the worst of it for this summer, so that our late summer, all-family campout will be bearable. We had a REALLY hot one three years ago, and EVERYONE was miserable and whiny (nothing worse than whiny grown-ups!).

So, yeah, Summer, crank it. Use it all up so that we can have a nice, comfortable campout. We don’t need your heat that late in the season, and we would all like to get a good night’s sleep in our tents and campers. Just to be safe, I’m going to buy a new (bigger) pool for the kids, and hand-out battery operated spritzing fans to everyone else. And, when all else fails, we’ll have the generator and my “new” Wind Machine for emergency back-up! 🤞🏼

Leave a comment